BRIT Awards 2020: Burna Boy Again!!!

Burna Boy

The Nigerian Afrofusion Icon, Burna Boy has kicked off the year with new strides in the global sphere, as he gets nominated for Best International Male Artiste at the 2020 BRIT Awards.

Nominated alongside top Americans talents, Bruce Springsteen, Dermot Kennedy, Tyler The Creator and Post Malone, Burna Boy has continuously left grand marks, especially in the last three years of his career.

Burna’s 2020 Soundcity MVP Awards

The year 2020 is already a big one for Burna as he just bagged three awards last Saturday, 11th January, 2020 at the Prestigious 2020 Soundcity MVP Awards. This can be said to tally with the words of Burma’s mother, Bose Ogulu in her acceptance speech at the 2018 Soundcity Awards where she told all to “expect more madness.”

Currently, the Brit Awards now doubles as Burna’s second International nomination for 2020, as his ‘African Giant’ album recently earned him a spot in the most prestigious Grammy Award’s list.

Described by Forbes as the “biggest awards in entertainment, be it in TV, film or music” the Brit Awards is also regarded at the British version of the Grammys.

Now in its 40th edition, since launching in 1977, the British Phonographic Industry’s annual popular music awards (BRIT) has been slated to be held on February 28th, 2020 at London’s 02 Arena.

Jack Whitehall

On November 27th, 2019, Ace Comedian, Jack Whitehall was announced as the host for the third year running, leaving the show to a promise of its legacies retained.

Irrespective of the fact that no votes will be casted by members of the public, this year, as winners will be exclusively selected by the Brit Awards Committee;
We look forward to the best outcome for Burna Boy, who has continuously raised the African flag high, particularly in the International sphere.

With Lewis Capaldi and Dave are leading the 2020 Brit Awards with four nominations respectively

Below are the nominations of the 2020 Brit Awards:

International Male

Bruce Springsteen

Burna Boy

Dermot Kennedy

Post Malone

Tyler, the Creator

International Female

Ariana Grande

Billie Eilish

Camila Cabello

Lana Del Rey


Song of the Year

AJ Tracey – “Ladbroke Grove”

Calvin Harris & Rag’N’Bone Man – “Giant”

Dave – “Location (ft. Burna Boy)”

Ed Sheeran & Justin Bieber – “I Don’t Care”

Lewis Capaldi – “Someone You Loved”

Mabel – “Don’t Call Me Up”

Mark Ronson – “Nothing Breaks Like a Heart (ft. Miley Cyrus)”

Sam Smith & Normani – “Dancing With a Stranger)”

Stormzy – “Vossi Bop”

Tom Walker – “Just You and I”

Best Group


Bring Me The Horizon


D-Block Europe


Mastercard Album of the Year

Dave – Psychodrama

Harry Styles – Fine Line

Lewis Capaldi – Divinely Uninspired to a Hellish Extent

Michael Kiwanuka – Kiwanuka

Stormzy – Heavy is the Head

Best New Artist



Lewis Capaldi


Sam Fender

Female Solo Artist

Charli XCX

FKA Twigs

Freya Ridings



Male Solo Artist


Harry Styles

Lewis Capaldi

Michael Kiwanuka


Eden Benibo

Author: Eden Benibo

Eden Benibo, Deputy Editor & Writer at Afrobeats360. Also a poet & lover of music adorned with edible lyrics. She believes Music & Poetry are like twinkling stars to dark nights

2 thoughts

Music is the weapon! Leave a comment... keep it clean.